Historical Commission

Mission Statement

The goal of the San Miguel County Historical Commission is to preserve the cultural, architectural, and historic resources within the boundaries of San Miguel County. The commission was formed in 2000 to recommend the designation of historic landmarks and districts within the county. The members advocate and educate on matters of historic preservation and they help staff develop incentives and regulations when appropriate to enhance historic preservation. 

MeetingsLewis Mill

  • Meetings are held the 2nd Tuesday of every other month at 5:30 p.m. in the Miramonte conference room - 2nd floor of the County office building, 333 W. Colorado Avenue.


  • J.J. Ossola, Chair
  • Kiernan Lannon
  • Amy Levek
  • Ted Wilson
  • John Wontrobski
  • Jonna Wensel, 1st Alternate

One 2nd Alternate vacancy exists on the Historical Commission. Letters of interest can be sent to the Commissioner's office via email: the Commissioner's Office email or for further information call (970)728-3844.

Helpful Documents