Telluride Region

Project Scope:  

The planning area for the Telluride Region encompasses the east end of San Miguel County and includes the Town of Telluride, Town of Mountain Village, and Town of Ophir as well as the unincorporated areas known as Lawson Hill, Ilium, Aldasoro Ranch, Ski Ranches, San Bernardo, Ames and Trout Lake. The planning area contains about 75,000 acres, of which about two-thirds is privately owned and one-third is US Forest Service land. Currently, about 70% of San Miguel County’s population lives in the Plan area. The Plan update will have a number of elements that include analysis of existing conditions, demographics, jobs, expected growth-related needs, water planning, and identification of anticipated issues that will arise as the region grows. Each element will include goals related to relevant topics, along with policies and proposed action items to help achieve the community’s goals for the future.

Plan Elements:

  • Land Use
  • Transportation
  • Housing
  • Facilities and Services (including Utilities, Water and Wastewater, Public Facilities )
  • Economic Development
  • Sustainability
  • Natural Resources and Environment (including Hazards)
  • Parks, Recreation and Open Space (including Historic Resources and Trails)
  • Climate Resiliency