News Flash Home
The original item was published from 6/30/2017 5:20:44 PM to 7/23/2017 12:05:02 AM.

News Flash

San Miguel County Sheriff News

Posted on: June 30, 2017

[ARCHIVED] Egnar Fire Restrictions Issued


Egnar Fire Restrictions Issued


Contact:    Susan Lilly, Public Information Officer   970-729-2028



June 30, 2017  -- (San Miguel County, CO) – The San Miguel County Sheriff’s office is issuing a Stage 1 fire restriction on the Egnar Fire protection district beginning Saturday July 1 at 8:00am.  This includes the areas of Disappointment Valley spanning west to the Utah border.  


Stage 1 fire restriction info is listed below, this of course includes the use of fireworks or any open burning.  If members of the public need further clarification please contact the  Egnar Fire Department

STAGE I Fire Restrictions

The following acts are prohibited:

  • Building, maintaining, attending, or using a fire, campfire or stove fire except within a permanent constructed fire grate in a developed campground, developed recreation site, or improved site.
  • Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or building, a developed recreation site or while stopped in an area at least three feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all flammable materials.

In addition the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Uncompahgre Field Office announced its implementation of Stage 1 fire restrictions on BLM-administered public lands in San Miguel, Montrose, Ouray, Delta and Gunnison counties. 




The San Miguel Sheriff’s Office, located in Telluride, Colorado and established in 1883, serves 7,800 residents and countless visitors across the 1,288 square miles of San Miguel County. Sheriff Bill Masters has been serving as the county’s elected Sheriff since 1980.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in San Miguel County Sheriff News